6.29 Programming Menu > Adjustment area > User Keys configuration

General

The User Key feature enables you to select all (or a portion) of the current layer’s attributes (such as settings, window size, layer color effects, etc.), and store them in a User Key.

These attributes can then be applied to any active layer on Preview via the Apply Selected button or via Drag and Drop.

User Keys configuration menu description

This menu provides:

  • A numbered list of the available User Keys.
  • A button to Save the attributes of a Layer as a new User Key.
  • A button to Overwrite the Layer data in the selected User Key.
  • A button to Delete one or more User keys.
  • A button to Lock All the User Keys in the list.
  • A button to Unlock All the User Keys in the list.
  • A button to select Creation Options to use while creating User Keys.

    • Off: No creation options are chosen. (This is the default option.)
    • AutoLock: All User Keys created with the AutoLock option On are created in the locked state.
    • Rename: All User Keys created with the Rename option On are created with the group name highlighted, so that the User Key may be immediately renamed.
    • Rename-Lock: This is a combination of the Rename and AutoLock options. All User Keys created with the Rename-Lock option On are created with the User Key name highlighted, so that the User Key may be renamed, and saved in a locked state.
  • Several attributes that can be enabled for use during Save operation.

    • Type: type of Layer—PIP or Key
    • Trans: type and rate of layer transition
    • Effects: color and effects
    • Border: On / Off and its parameters
    • Shadow: On / Off and its parameters
    • Key: Key parameters separated from Layer type
    • Pos: Position of Layer
    • Size: Size of Layer
    • Source: actual size of the Source inside the PIP, as opposed to the Source file
    • Mask: Masking parameters
    • Keyframe: Stores only the ending Keyframe layer attributes. Does not store Keyframe rate or transition curve settings.
    • Freeze: Recalls the Frozen/Thawed state of a layer
  • A search edit box for searching User Keys by number and a search edit box for searching User Keys by name.
Save to new User key
  1. Select the layer whose parameters you want to store.
  2. Using the menu, enable or disable the specific parameters that you wish to store (e.g., Type, Trans, Effects, Key etc.). You can also enable all parameters using the ALL button.
  3. Select the “Save to new User Key” button.
  4. The User Key appears in the list.
  5. Repeat from step 1 to store additional User Keys.
Overwrite User key

This button is enabled if a layer and a user key are selected. Pressing this button overwrites the layer data in the selected user key, but the name of the user key is not updated unless the Creation Option is set to either “Rename” or “Rename-Lock.” The attributes saved are based on the selection of the Enables boxes. If no boxes are checked, no user key can be saved.

Delete User Key(s)

Allows for multiple deletes of User keys.

  1. Click the Delete UserKey(s) button.
  2. Select the User Key to be deleted by clicking the X next to the lock for that User Key.

    Image 6–94 Select a User Key

    Note: If a User Key is locked, it cannot be deleted.

  3. Select Delete Selected to delete only the selected User Key(s), or select Select All then select Delete Selected to delete all User Keys.

    Image 6–95 Delete Selected User Keys
User key list

Lists all User Keys, sorted numerically by register number.

Search edit box

Search User keys by name. A list of User Keys including the selection appears instead of the full list.

Search Number (# icon)

Entering a number between 1 and 999 searches for, selects, and shows that number User Key.

Apply Selected

The selected User Key is applied to the selected layer(s) on Preview and on Program if layers are selected on unlocked destinations.

Renaming User Keys

Change the name of a User Key by double-clicking on the name itself. The list is not reordered based on the new name.

Renumbering User Keys

Edit the number of a User Key by double-clicking on the number. The list is reordered based on the new number.